Common questions about Safe Places for Children Secretariat's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is Safe Places for Children Secretariat a good charity? +
Safe Places for Children Secretariat scores 52 out of 100 (2 stars — Poor) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are up to date. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is Safe Places for Children Secretariat a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists Safe Places for Children Secretariat as a registered charity (charity number 1173449). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=1173449&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is Safe Places for Children Secretariat's charity number? +
Safe Places for Children Secretariat's charity number is 1173449. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is Safe Places for Children Secretariat's charity rating? +
Safe Places for Children Secretariat scores 52 out of 100 on CharityCompare (2 stars — Poor). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does Safe Places for Children Secretariat have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for Safe Places for Children Secretariat. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (one red flag on this profile: insufficient trustee oversight). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches Safe Places for Children Secretariat? +
Safe Places for Children Secretariat does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are Safe Places for Children Secretariat's overheads? +
Across the recent disclosed accounts used for this score, fundraising costs were about 0% of total expenditure and fundraising plus separately reported governance figures amount to about 0% of expenditure (2022–2024, disclosed years); these categories can overlap, so this is not a distinct total of all administration costs at Safe Places for Children Secretariat. Safe Places for Children Secretariat's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2024 reports 3 employees paid more than £60,000, including 1 employee paid more than £100,000. The highest reported pay band is £100,001–£110,000 (1 employee). Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does Safe Places for Children Secretariat receive? +
Safe Places for Children Secretariat reported £2.2m total income in its 2024 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: check comparability.
Are Safe Places for Children Secretariat's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: up to date (last filing 2025-10-28). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is Safe Places for Children Secretariat based? +
Safe Places for Children Secretariat's registered contact address is in Chester (Cheshire). It tells the regulator it operates in England and Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland, with a focus on disability.
How much is Safe Places for Children Secretariat's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. Safe Places for Children Secretariat's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2024 reports 3 employees paid more than £60,000, including 1 employee paid more than £100,000. The highest reported pay band is £100,001–£110,000 (1 employee). Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Where does Safe Places for Children Secretariat's money come from? +
Safe Places for Children Secretariat reported £2.2m total income for the year ending 31 December 2024. The largest sources were charitable activities £2.2m (100%).
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to Safe Places for Children Secretariat? +
The register does not record Safe Places for Children Secretariat as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid. Ask the charity before assuming a donation can be Gift Aided.
Are Safe Places for Children Secretariat's trustees paid? +
Safe Places for Children Secretariat's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2024 reports that no trustee received remuneration or other benefits from the charity.
When was Safe Places for Children Secretariat registered as a charity? +
Safe Places for Children Secretariat was entered on the register on 16 June 2017. It is also a company registered at Companies House (company number 10147280).
How does CharityCompare score Safe Places for Children Secretariat? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in Safe Places for Children Secretariat's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and Safe Places for Children Secretariat's most recent accounts cover 2024. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.