Common questions about Patient Safety Learning's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is Patient Safety Learning a good charity? +
Patient Safety Learning scores 67 out of 100 (3 stars — Needs improvement) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are up to date. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is Patient Safety Learning a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists Patient Safety Learning as a registered charity (charity number 1180689). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=1180689&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is Patient Safety Learning's charity number? +
Patient Safety Learning's charity number is 1180689. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is Patient Safety Learning's charity rating? +
Patient Safety Learning scores 67 out of 100 on CharityCompare (3 stars — Needs improvement). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does Patient Safety Learning have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for Patient Safety Learning. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (none flagged on this profile). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches Patient Safety Learning? +
Patient Safety Learning does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are Patient Safety Learning's overheads? +
Across the recent disclosed accounts used for this score, fundraising costs were about 0% of total expenditure and fundraising plus separately reported governance figures amount to about 0% of expenditure (2024–2025, disclosed years); these categories can overlap, so this is not a distinct total of all administration costs at Patient Safety Learning. Patient Safety Learning's annual return for the year ending 30 April 2025 reports 2 employees paid more than £60,000. The highest reported pay band is £90,001–£100,000 (1 employee). Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does Patient Safety Learning receive? +
Patient Safety Learning reported £849k total income in its 2025 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: growing.
Are Patient Safety Learning's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: up to date (last filing 2026-02-26). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is Patient Safety Learning based? +
Patient Safety Learning's registered contact address is in London (SE1 7SJ). It tells the regulator it operates in England and Wales, Australia, Canada, United States, with a focus on health.
How much is Patient Safety Learning's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. Patient Safety Learning's annual return for the year ending 30 April 2025 reports 2 employees paid more than £60,000. The highest reported pay band is £90,001–£100,000 (1 employee). Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Where does Patient Safety Learning's money come from? +
Patient Safety Learning reported £849k total income for the year ending 30 April 2025. The largest sources were donations and legacies £800k (94%), charitable activities £50k (6%).
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to Patient Safety Learning? +
The register does not record Patient Safety Learning as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid. Ask the charity before assuming a donation can be Gift Aided.
Are Patient Safety Learning's trustees paid? +
Patient Safety Learning's annual return for the year ending 30 April 2025 reports that no trustee received remuneration or other benefits from the charity.
When was Patient Safety Learning registered as a charity? +
Patient Safety Learning was entered on the register on 14 November 2018. It is also a company registered at Companies House (company number 11067952).
How does CharityCompare score Patient Safety Learning? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in Patient Safety Learning's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and Patient Safety Learning's most recent accounts cover 2025. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.