Common questions about Communities 1st's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is Communities 1st a good charity? +
Communities 1st scores 70 out of 100 (3 stars — Needs improvement) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are late. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is Communities 1st a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists Communities 1st as a registered charity (charity number 1187164). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=1187164&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is Communities 1st's charity number? +
Communities 1st's charity number is 1187164. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is Communities 1st's charity rating? +
Communities 1st scores 70 out of 100 on CharityCompare (3 stars — Needs improvement). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does Communities 1st have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for Communities 1st. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (one red flag on this profile: late accounts filing). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches Communities 1st? +
Communities 1st does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are Communities 1st's overheads? +
Across the recent disclosed accounts used for this score, fundraising costs were about 0% of total expenditure and fundraising plus separately reported governance figures amount to about 0% of expenditure (2023–2025, disclosed years); these categories can overlap, so this is not a distinct total of all administration costs at Communities 1st. Communities 1st's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports 1 employee paid more than £60,000. The highest reported pay band is £60,001–£70,000 (1 employee). Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does Communities 1st receive? +
Communities 1st reported £1.6m total income in its 2025 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: growing.
Are Communities 1st's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: late (last filing 2026-01-07). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is Communities 1st based? +
Communities 1st's registered contact address is in St Albans (AL2 2WH). It tells the regulator it operates in Cambridgeshire, Bedford, Essex, Norfolk, Suffolk, Peterborough City, with a focus on poverty relief.
How much is Communities 1st's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. Communities 1st's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports 1 employee paid more than £60,000. The highest reported pay band is £60,001–£70,000 (1 employee). Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Where does Communities 1st's money come from? +
Communities 1st reported £1.6m total income for the year ending 31 March 2025. The largest sources were donations and legacies £1.6m (99%), investments £20k (1%).
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to Communities 1st? +
The register does not record Communities 1st as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid. Ask the charity before assuming a donation can be Gift Aided.
Are Communities 1st's trustees paid? +
Communities 1st's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports that no trustee received remuneration or other benefits from the charity.
When was Communities 1st registered as a charity? +
Communities 1st was entered on the register on 31 December 2019. It is also a company registered at Companies House (company number 11875362).
How does CharityCompare score Communities 1st? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in Communities 1st's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and Communities 1st's most recent accounts cover 2025. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.