Common questions about Berwick-Upon-Tweed Community Development Trust Limited's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is Berwick-Upon-Tweed Community Development Trust Limited a good charity? +
Berwick-Upon-Tweed Community Development Trust Limited scores 47 out of 100 (2 stars — Poor) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are up to date. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is Berwick-Upon-Tweed Community Development Trust Limited a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists Berwick-Upon-Tweed Community Development Trust Limited as a registered charity (charity number 1109088). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=1109088&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is Berwick-Upon-Tweed Community Development Trust Limited's charity number? +
Berwick-Upon-Tweed Community Development Trust Limited's charity number is 1109088. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is Berwick-Upon-Tweed Community Development Trust Limited's charity rating? +
Berwick-Upon-Tweed Community Development Trust Limited scores 47 out of 100 on CharityCompare (2 stars — Poor). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does Berwick-Upon-Tweed Community Development Trust Limited have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for Berwick-Upon-Tweed Community Development Trust Limited. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (none flagged on this profile). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches Berwick-Upon-Tweed Community Development Trust Limited? +
Berwick-Upon-Tweed Community Development Trust Limited does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are Berwick-Upon-Tweed Community Development Trust Limited's overheads? +
Berwick-Upon-Tweed Community Development Trust Limited's recent UK regulator filings do not disclose a fundraising or governance cost split, so no official overhead percentage is available. Berwick-Upon-Tweed Community Development Trust Limited's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does Berwick-Upon-Tweed Community Development Trust Limited receive? +
Berwick-Upon-Tweed Community Development Trust Limited reported £328k total income in its 2024 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: declining.
Are Berwick-Upon-Tweed Community Development Trust Limited's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: up to date (last filing 2025-10-10). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is Berwick-Upon-Tweed Community Development Trust Limited based? +
Berwick-Upon-Tweed Community Development Trust Limited's registered contact address is in Galashiels (TD15 1JT). It tells the regulator it operates in Northumberland, with a focus on poverty relief.
How much is Berwick-Upon-Tweed Community Development Trust Limited's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. Berwick-Upon-Tweed Community Development Trust Limited's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Where does Berwick-Upon-Tweed Community Development Trust Limited's money come from? +
Berwick-Upon-Tweed Community Development Trust Limited reported £702k total income for the year ending 31 December 2025. The largest sources were donations and legacies £557k (79%), trading and fundraising events £71k (10%), investments £51k (7%).
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to Berwick-Upon-Tweed Community Development Trust Limited? +
The register records Berwick-Upon-Tweed Community Development Trust Limited as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid, so a UK taxpayer can usually add 25p to every £1 they give by making a Gift Aid declaration.
Are Berwick-Upon-Tweed Community Development Trust Limited's trustees paid? +
Berwick-Upon-Tweed Community Development Trust Limited's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2025 reports that no trustee received remuneration or other benefits from the charity.
When was Berwick-Upon-Tweed Community Development Trust Limited registered as a charity? +
Berwick-Upon-Tweed Community Development Trust Limited was entered on the register on 18 April 2005. It is also a company registered at Companies House (company number 05290088).
How does CharityCompare score Berwick-Upon-Tweed Community Development Trust Limited? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in Berwick-Upon-Tweed Community Development Trust Limited's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and Berwick-Upon-Tweed Community Development Trust Limited's most recent accounts cover 2024. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.