Common questions about Young Westminster Foundation's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is Young Westminster Foundation a good charity? +
Young Westminster Foundation scores 70 out of 100 (3 stars — Needs improvement) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are up to date. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is Young Westminster Foundation a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists Young Westminster Foundation as a registered charity (charity number 1169255). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=1169255&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is Young Westminster Foundation's charity number? +
Young Westminster Foundation's charity number is 1169255. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is Young Westminster Foundation's charity rating? +
Young Westminster Foundation scores 70 out of 100 on CharityCompare (3 stars — Needs improvement). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does Young Westminster Foundation have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for Young Westminster Foundation. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (none flagged on this profile). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches Young Westminster Foundation? +
Young Westminster Foundation does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are Young Westminster Foundation's overheads? +
Across the recent disclosed accounts used for this score, fundraising costs were about 0% of total expenditure and fundraising plus separately reported governance figures amount to about 0% of expenditure (2023–2025, disclosed years); these categories can overlap, so this is not a distinct total of all administration costs at Young Westminster Foundation. Young Westminster Foundation's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports 1 employee paid more than £60,000. The highest reported pay band is £70,001–£80,000 (1 employee). Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does Young Westminster Foundation receive? +
Young Westminster Foundation reported £2.4m total income in its 2025 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: growing.
Are Young Westminster Foundation's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: up to date (last filing 2025-08-12). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is Young Westminster Foundation based? +
Young Westminster Foundation's register entry is at United Kingdom. It tells the regulator it operates in City of Westminster, with a focus on poverty relief.
How much is Young Westminster Foundation's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. Young Westminster Foundation's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports 1 employee paid more than £60,000. The highest reported pay band is £70,001–£80,000 (1 employee). Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Where does Young Westminster Foundation's money come from? +
Young Westminster Foundation reported £2.4m total income for the year ending 31 March 2025. The largest sources were donations and legacies £2.4m (100%), investments £4,006 (0%).
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to Young Westminster Foundation? +
The register does not record Young Westminster Foundation as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid. Ask the charity before assuming a donation can be Gift Aided.
Are Young Westminster Foundation's trustees paid? +
Young Westminster Foundation's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports that no trustee received remuneration or other benefits from the charity.
When was Young Westminster Foundation registered as a charity? +
Young Westminster Foundation was entered on the register on 19 September 2016.
How does CharityCompare score Young Westminster Foundation? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in Young Westminster Foundation's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and Young Westminster Foundation's most recent accounts cover 2025. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.