Common questions about Whipperley Nursery's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is Whipperley Nursery a good charity? +
Whipperley Nursery scores 54 out of 100 (2 stars — Poor) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are late. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is Whipperley Nursery a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists Whipperley Nursery as a registered charity (charity number 1149155). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=1149155&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is Whipperley Nursery's charity number? +
Whipperley Nursery's charity number is 1149155. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is Whipperley Nursery's charity rating? +
Whipperley Nursery scores 54 out of 100 on CharityCompare (2 stars — Poor). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does Whipperley Nursery have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for Whipperley Nursery. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (2 red flags on this profile: late accounts filing; poor filing history). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches Whipperley Nursery? +
Whipperley Nursery does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are Whipperley Nursery's overheads? +
Across the recent disclosed accounts used for this score, fundraising costs were about 0% of total expenditure and fundraising plus separately reported governance figures amount to about 0% of expenditure (2024); these categories can overlap, so this is not a distinct total of all administration costs at Whipperley Nursery. Whipperley Nursery's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2024 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does Whipperley Nursery receive? +
Whipperley Nursery reported £565k total income in its 2024 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: growing.
Are Whipperley Nursery's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: late (last filing 2025-11-05). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is Whipperley Nursery based? +
Whipperley Nursery's registered contact address is in Luton (LU1 5LJ). It tells the regulator it operates in Luton, with a focus on poverty relief.
How much is Whipperley Nursery's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. Whipperley Nursery's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2024 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Where does Whipperley Nursery's money come from? +
Whipperley Nursery reported £565k total income for the year ending 31 December 2024. The largest sources were charitable activities £564k (100%), other income £605 (0%), donations and legacies £523 (0%).
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to Whipperley Nursery? +
The register does not record Whipperley Nursery as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid. Ask the charity before assuming a donation can be Gift Aided.
Are Whipperley Nursery's trustees paid? +
Whipperley Nursery's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2024 reports that no trustee received remuneration or other benefits from the charity.
What was Whipperley Nursery previously called? +
The register lists this previous name for Whipperley Nursery: Whipperley Nursery & Childrens Centre.
When was Whipperley Nursery registered as a charity? +
Whipperley Nursery was entered on the register on 1 October 2012.
How does CharityCompare score Whipperley Nursery? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in Whipperley Nursery's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and Whipperley Nursery's most recent accounts cover 2024. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.