Common questions about The Royal Caledonian Education Trust's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is The Royal Caledonian Education Trust a good charity? +
The Royal Caledonian Education Trust scores 32 out of 100 (2 stars — Poor) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are late. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is The Royal Caledonian Education Trust a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists The Royal Caledonian Education Trust as a registered charity (charity number 310952). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=310952&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is The Royal Caledonian Education Trust's charity number? +
The Royal Caledonian Education Trust's charity number is 310952. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is The Royal Caledonian Education Trust's charity rating? +
The Royal Caledonian Education Trust scores 32 out of 100 on CharityCompare (2 stars — Poor). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does The Royal Caledonian Education Trust have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for The Royal Caledonian Education Trust. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (one red flag on this profile: late accounts filing). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches The Royal Caledonian Education Trust? +
The Royal Caledonian Education Trust does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are The Royal Caledonian Education Trust's overheads? +
The Royal Caledonian Education Trust's recent UK regulator filings do not disclose a fundraising or governance cost split, so no official overhead percentage is available. The Royal Caledonian Education Trust's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does The Royal Caledonian Education Trust receive? +
The Royal Caledonian Education Trust reported £291k total income in its 2025 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: declining.
Are The Royal Caledonian Education Trust's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: late (last filing 2025-12-17). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is The Royal Caledonian Education Trust based? +
The Royal Caledonian Education Trust's registered contact address is in Edinburgh (EH8 8DL). It tells the regulator it operates in London, Scotland, with a focus on poverty relief.
How much is The Royal Caledonian Education Trust's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. The Royal Caledonian Education Trust's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to The Royal Caledonian Education Trust? +
The register records The Royal Caledonian Education Trust as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid, so a UK taxpayer can usually add 25p to every £1 they give by making a Gift Aid declaration.
Are The Royal Caledonian Education Trust's trustees paid? +
The Royal Caledonian Education Trust's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports that no trustee received remuneration or other benefits from the charity.
What was The Royal Caledonian Education Trust previously called? +
The register lists these previous names for The Royal Caledonian Education Trust: Royal Caledonian Asylum; Royal Caledonian Schools Trust.
When was The Royal Caledonian Education Trust registered as a charity? +
The Royal Caledonian Education Trust was entered on the register on 26 March 1963.
How does CharityCompare score The Royal Caledonian Education Trust? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in The Royal Caledonian Education Trust's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and The Royal Caledonian Education Trust's most recent accounts cover 2025. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.