Common questions about The Royal Artillery Association's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is The Royal Artillery Association a good charity? +
The Royal Artillery Association scores 30 out of 100 (2 stars — Poor) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are up to date. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is The Royal Artillery Association a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists The Royal Artillery Association as a registered charity (charity number 238197). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=238197&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is The Royal Artillery Association's charity number? +
The Royal Artillery Association's charity number is 238197. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is The Royal Artillery Association's charity rating? +
The Royal Artillery Association scores 30 out of 100 on CharityCompare (2 stars — Poor). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does The Royal Artillery Association have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for The Royal Artillery Association. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (one red flag on this profile: insufficient trustee oversight). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches The Royal Artillery Association? +
The Royal Artillery Association does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are The Royal Artillery Association's overheads? +
The Royal Artillery Association's recent UK regulator filings do not disclose a fundraising or governance cost split, so no official overhead percentage is available. The Royal Artillery Association's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does The Royal Artillery Association receive? +
The Royal Artillery Association reported £244k total income in its 2024 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: check comparability.
Are The Royal Artillery Association's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: up to date (last filing 2025-07-31). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is The Royal Artillery Association based? +
The Royal Artillery Association's registered contact address is in Salisbury (SP4 8QT). It tells the regulator it operates in Scotland, Northern Ireland, Australia, Bermuda, Germany, England and Wales, with a focus on community.
How much is The Royal Artillery Association's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. The Royal Artillery Association's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to The Royal Artillery Association? +
The register records The Royal Artillery Association as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid, so a UK taxpayer can usually add 25p to every £1 they give by making a Gift Aid declaration.
Are The Royal Artillery Association's trustees paid? +
The Royal Artillery Association's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2025 reports that one or more trustees received payments or other benefits (payments for providing services). Charity law allows this only in limited circumstances; the trustees' annual report should explain it.
When was The Royal Artillery Association registered as a charity? +
The Royal Artillery Association was entered on the register on 15 December 1964.
How does CharityCompare score The Royal Artillery Association? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in The Royal Artillery Association's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and The Royal Artillery Association's most recent accounts cover 2024. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.