Common questions about The Reading Foundation's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is The Reading Foundation a good charity? +
The Reading Foundation scores 43 out of 100 (2 stars — Poor) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are late. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is The Reading Foundation a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists The Reading Foundation as a registered charity (charity number 294640). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=294640&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is The Reading Foundation's charity number? +
The Reading Foundation's charity number is 294640. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is The Reading Foundation's charity rating? +
The Reading Foundation scores 43 out of 100 on CharityCompare (2 stars — Poor). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does The Reading Foundation have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for The Reading Foundation. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (3 red flags on this profile: late accounts filing; poor filing history; very high reserves). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches The Reading Foundation? +
The Reading Foundation does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are The Reading Foundation's overheads? +
Across the recent disclosed accounts used for this score, fundraising costs were about 0% of total expenditure and fundraising plus separately reported governance figures amount to about 0% of expenditure (2025); these categories can overlap, so this is not a distinct total of all administration costs at The Reading Foundation. The Reading Foundation's annual return for the year ending 31 July 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does The Reading Foundation receive? +
The Reading Foundation reported £517k total income in its 2025 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: growing.
Are The Reading Foundation's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: late (last filing 2026-02-20). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is The Reading Foundation based? +
The Reading Foundation's registered contact address is in Reading (RG1 5LW). It tells the regulator it operates in Reading, with a focus on education.
How much is The Reading Foundation's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. The Reading Foundation's annual return for the year ending 31 July 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Where does The Reading Foundation's money come from? +
The Reading Foundation reported £517k total income for the year ending 31 July 2025. The largest sources were donations and legacies £369k (71%), investments £148k (29%). Legacies (gifts in wills) contributed £15k.
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to The Reading Foundation? +
The register does not record The Reading Foundation as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid. Ask the charity before assuming a donation can be Gift Aided.
Are The Reading Foundation's trustees paid? +
The Reading Foundation's annual return for the year ending 31 July 2025 reports that no trustee received remuneration or other benefits from the charity.
When was The Reading Foundation registered as a charity? +
The Reading Foundation was entered on the register on 10 June 1986. It is also a company registered at Companies House (company number 02025362).
How does CharityCompare score The Reading Foundation? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in The Reading Foundation's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and The Reading Foundation's most recent accounts cover 2025. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.