Common questions about The Prayer Book Society's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is The Prayer Book Society a good charity? +
The Prayer Book Society scores 55 out of 100 (2 stars — Poor) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are up to date. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is The Prayer Book Society a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists The Prayer Book Society as a registered charity (charity number 1099295). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=1099295&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is The Prayer Book Society's charity number? +
The Prayer Book Society's charity number is 1099295. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is The Prayer Book Society's charity rating? +
The Prayer Book Society scores 55 out of 100 on CharityCompare (2 stars — Poor). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does The Prayer Book Society have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for The Prayer Book Society. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (none flagged on this profile). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches The Prayer Book Society? +
The Prayer Book Society does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are The Prayer Book Society's overheads? +
The Prayer Book Society's recent UK regulator filings do not disclose a fundraising or governance cost split, so no official overhead percentage is available. The Prayer Book Society's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2025 reports 1 employee paid more than £60,000. The highest reported pay band is £70,001–£80,000 (1 employee). Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does The Prayer Book Society receive? +
The Prayer Book Society reported £394k total income in its 2024 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: check comparability.
Are The Prayer Book Society's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: up to date (last filing 2025-09-16). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is The Prayer Book Society based? +
The Prayer Book Society's registered contact address is in Reading (RG8 7RT). It tells the regulator it operates in England and Wales, with a focus on religion.
How much is The Prayer Book Society's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. The Prayer Book Society's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2025 reports 1 employee paid more than £60,000. The highest reported pay band is £70,001–£80,000 (1 employee). Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Where does The Prayer Book Society's money come from? +
The Prayer Book Society reported £835k total income for the year ending 31 December 2025. The largest sources were donations and legacies £739k (88%), investments £52k (6%), trading and fundraising events £27k (3%). Legacies (gifts in wills) contributed £608k.
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to The Prayer Book Society? +
The register records The Prayer Book Society as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid, so a UK taxpayer can usually add 25p to every £1 they give by making a Gift Aid declaration.
Are The Prayer Book Society's trustees paid? +
The Prayer Book Society's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2025 reports that no trustee received remuneration or other benefits from the charity.
When was The Prayer Book Society registered as a charity? +
The Prayer Book Society was entered on the register on 5 September 2003. It is also a company registered at Companies House (company number 04786973).
How does CharityCompare score The Prayer Book Society? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in The Prayer Book Society's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and The Prayer Book Society's most recent accounts cover 2024. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.