Common questions about The Fairness Foundation's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is The Fairness Foundation a good charity? +
The Fairness Foundation scores 52 out of 100 (2 stars — Poor) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are up to date. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is The Fairness Foundation a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists The Fairness Foundation as a registered charity (charity number 1044174). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=1044174&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is The Fairness Foundation's charity number? +
The Fairness Foundation's charity number is 1044174. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is The Fairness Foundation's charity rating? +
The Fairness Foundation scores 52 out of 100 on CharityCompare (2 stars — Poor). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does The Fairness Foundation have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for The Fairness Foundation. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (none flagged on this profile). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches The Fairness Foundation? +
The Fairness Foundation does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are The Fairness Foundation's overheads? +
The Fairness Foundation's recent UK regulator filings do not disclose a fundraising or governance cost split, so no official overhead percentage is available. The Fairness Foundation's annual return for the year ending 30 April 2025 reports 1 employee paid more than £60,000. The highest reported pay band is £60,001–£70,000 (1 employee). Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does The Fairness Foundation receive? +
The Fairness Foundation reported £242k total income in its 2025 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: check comparability.
Are The Fairness Foundation's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: up to date (last filing 2025-12-04). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is The Fairness Foundation based? +
The Fairness Foundation's registered contact address is in London (SE1 4LL). It tells the regulator it operates in England and Wales, with a focus on poverty relief.
How much is The Fairness Foundation's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. The Fairness Foundation's annual return for the year ending 30 April 2025 reports 1 employee paid more than £60,000. The highest reported pay band is £60,001–£70,000 (1 employee). Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to The Fairness Foundation? +
The register does not record The Fairness Foundation as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid. Ask the charity before assuming a donation can be Gift Aided.
Are The Fairness Foundation's trustees paid? +
The Fairness Foundation's annual return for the year ending 30 April 2025 reports that no trustee received remuneration or other benefits from the charity.
What was The Fairness Foundation previously called? +
The register lists these previous names for The Fairness Foundation: The Persula Foundation; Fairness Foundation.
When was The Fairness Foundation registered as a charity? +
The Fairness Foundation was entered on the register on 14 February 1995. It is also a company registered at Companies House (company number 02912767).
How does CharityCompare score The Fairness Foundation? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in The Fairness Foundation's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and The Fairness Foundation's most recent accounts cover 2025. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.