Common questions about The Centre for African Entrepreneurship's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is The Centre for African Entrepreneurship a good charity? +
The Centre for African Entrepreneurship scores 79 out of 100 (4 stars — Good) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are up to date. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is The Centre for African Entrepreneurship a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists The Centre for African Entrepreneurship as a registered charity (charity number 1163348). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=1163348&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is The Centre for African Entrepreneurship's charity number? +
The Centre for African Entrepreneurship's charity number is 1163348. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is The Centre for African Entrepreneurship's charity rating? +
The Centre for African Entrepreneurship scores 79 out of 100 on CharityCompare (4 stars — Good). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does The Centre for African Entrepreneurship have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for The Centre for African Entrepreneurship. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (none flagged on this profile). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches The Centre for African Entrepreneurship? +
The Centre for African Entrepreneurship does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are The Centre for African Entrepreneurship's overheads? +
Across the recent disclosed accounts used for this score, fundraising costs were about 0% of total expenditure and fundraising plus separately reported governance figures amount to about 0% of expenditure (2024–2025, disclosed years); these categories can overlap, so this is not a distinct total of all administration costs at The Centre for African Entrepreneurship. The Centre for African Entrepreneurship's annual return for the year ending 31 August 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does The Centre for African Entrepreneurship receive? +
The Centre for African Entrepreneurship reported £642k total income in its 2025 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: growing.
Are The Centre for African Entrepreneurship's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: up to date (last filing 2026-06-30). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is The Centre for African Entrepreneurship based? +
The Centre for African Entrepreneurship's registered contact address is in Swansea (SA1 3AN). It tells the regulator it operates in England and Wales, Congo (Democratic Republic), with a focus on international aid.
How much is The Centre for African Entrepreneurship's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. The Centre for African Entrepreneurship's annual return for the year ending 31 August 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Where does The Centre for African Entrepreneurship's money come from? +
The Centre for African Entrepreneurship reported £642k total income for the year ending 31 August 2025. The largest sources were charitable activities £642k (100%), donations and legacies £50 (0%).
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to The Centre for African Entrepreneurship? +
The register does not record The Centre for African Entrepreneurship as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid. Ask the charity before assuming a donation can be Gift Aided.
Are The Centre for African Entrepreneurship's trustees paid? +
The Centre for African Entrepreneurship's annual return for the year ending 31 August 2025 reports that no trustee received remuneration or other benefits from the charity.
What was The Centre for African Entrepreneurship previously called? +
The register lists this previous name for The Centre for African Entrepreneurship: Children's Aid Drc Charity.
When was The Centre for African Entrepreneurship registered as a charity? +
The Centre for African Entrepreneurship was entered on the register on 1 September 2015.
How does CharityCompare score The Centre for African Entrepreneurship? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in The Centre for African Entrepreneurship's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and The Centre for African Entrepreneurship's most recent accounts cover 2025. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.