Common questions about Stamma's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is Stamma a good charity? +
Stamma scores 55 out of 100 (2 stars — Poor) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are up to date. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is Stamma a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists Stamma as a registered charity (charity number 1089967). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=1089967&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is Stamma's charity number? +
Stamma's charity number is 1089967. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is Stamma's charity rating? +
Stamma scores 55 out of 100 on CharityCompare (2 stars — Poor). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does Stamma have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for Stamma. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (none flagged on this profile). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches Stamma? +
Stamma does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are Stamma's overheads? +
Stamma's recent UK regulator filings do not disclose a fundraising or governance cost split, so no official overhead percentage is available. Stamma's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2025 reports 2 employees paid more than £60,000. The highest reported pay band is £80,001–£90,000 (1 employee). Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does Stamma receive? +
Stamma reported £373k total income in its 2025 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: growing.
Are Stamma's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: up to date (last filing 2026-08-26). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is Stamma based? +
Stamma's registered contact address is in London (WC2E 9HA). It tells the regulator it operates in England and Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland, Isle of Man, with a focus on disability.
How much is Stamma's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. Stamma's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2025 reports 2 employees paid more than £60,000. The highest reported pay band is £80,001–£90,000 (1 employee). Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to Stamma? +
The register records Stamma as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid, so a UK taxpayer can usually add 25p to every £1 they give by making a Gift Aid declaration.
Are Stamma's trustees paid? +
Stamma's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2025 reports that no trustee received remuneration or other benefits from the charity.
What was Stamma previously called? +
The register lists this previous name for Stamma: The British Stammering Association.
When was Stamma registered as a charity? +
Stamma was entered on the register on 4 January 2002. It is also a company registered at Companies House (company number 04297778).
How does CharityCompare score Stamma? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in Stamma's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and Stamma's most recent accounts cover 2025. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.