Common questions about Self Help Nottingham's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is Self Help Nottingham a good charity? +
Self Help Nottingham scores 73 out of 100 (3 stars — Needs improvement) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are late. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is Self Help Nottingham a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists Self Help Nottingham as a registered charity (charity number 1061691). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=1061691&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is Self Help Nottingham's charity number? +
Self Help Nottingham's charity number is 1061691. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is Self Help Nottingham's charity rating? +
Self Help Nottingham scores 73 out of 100 on CharityCompare (3 stars — Needs improvement). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does Self Help Nottingham have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for Self Help Nottingham. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (one red flag on this profile: late accounts filing). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches Self Help Nottingham? +
Self Help Nottingham does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are Self Help Nottingham's overheads? +
Across the recent disclosed accounts used for this score, fundraising costs were about 0% of total expenditure and fundraising plus separately reported governance figures amount to about 0% of expenditure (2023–2025, disclosed years); these categories can overlap, so this is not a distinct total of all administration costs at Self Help Nottingham. Self Help Nottingham's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports 1 employee paid more than £60,000. The highest reported pay band is £70,001–£80,000 (1 employee). Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does Self Help Nottingham receive? +
Self Help Nottingham reported £739k total income in its 2025 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: growing.
Are Self Help Nottingham's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: late (last filing 2025-09-09). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is Self Help Nottingham based? +
Self Help Nottingham's registered contact address is in Nottingham (NG5 1AP). It tells the regulator it operates in England, with a focus on poverty relief.
How much is Self Help Nottingham's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. Self Help Nottingham's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports 1 employee paid more than £60,000. The highest reported pay band is £70,001–£80,000 (1 employee). Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Where does Self Help Nottingham's money come from? +
Self Help Nottingham reported £739k total income for the year ending 31 March 2025. The largest sources were donations and legacies £651k (88%), charitable activities £87k (12%).
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to Self Help Nottingham? +
The register does not record Self Help Nottingham as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid. Ask the charity before assuming a donation can be Gift Aided.
Are Self Help Nottingham's trustees paid? +
Self Help Nottingham's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports that no trustee received remuneration or other benefits from the charity.
When was Self Help Nottingham registered as a charity? +
Self Help Nottingham was entered on the register on 7 April 1997. It is also a company registered at Companies House (company number 03309760).
How does CharityCompare score Self Help Nottingham? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in Self Help Nottingham's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and Self Help Nottingham's most recent accounts cover 2025. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.