Common questions about Science Based Targets Initiative's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is Science Based Targets Initiative a good charity? +
Science Based Targets Initiative scores 37 out of 100 (2 stars — Poor) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are up to date. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is Science Based Targets Initiative a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists Science Based Targets Initiative as a registered charity (charity number 1205768). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=1205768&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is Science Based Targets Initiative's charity number? +
Science Based Targets Initiative's charity number is 1205768. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is Science Based Targets Initiative's charity rating? +
Science Based Targets Initiative scores 37 out of 100 on CharityCompare (2 stars — Poor). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does Science Based Targets Initiative have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for Science Based Targets Initiative. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (none flagged on this profile). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches Science Based Targets Initiative? +
Science Based Targets Initiative does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are Science Based Targets Initiative's overheads? +
Science Based Targets Initiative's recent UK regulator filings do not disclose a fundraising or governance cost split, so no official overhead percentage is available. Science Based Targets Initiative's annual return for the year ending 26 December 2024 reports 33 employees paid more than £60,000, including 14 employees paid more than £100,000. The highest reported pay band is £300,001–£350,000 (2 employees). Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does Science Based Targets Initiative receive? +
Science Based Targets Initiative reported £22m total income in its 2024 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: limited history.
Are Science Based Targets Initiative's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: up to date (last filing 2025-04-01). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is Science Based Targets Initiative based? +
Science Based Targets Initiative's registered contact address is in London (WC2A 3LH). It tells the regulator it operates in England and Wales, with a focus on environment.
How much is Science Based Targets Initiative's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. Science Based Targets Initiative's annual return for the year ending 26 December 2024 reports 33 employees paid more than £60,000, including 14 employees paid more than £100,000. The highest reported pay band is £300,001–£350,000 (2 employees). Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Where does Science Based Targets Initiative's money come from? +
Science Based Targets Initiative reported £22m total income for the year ending 26 December 2024. The largest sources were charitable activities £17m (75%), trading and fundraising events £5.6m (25%), investments £54k (0%).
Are Science Based Targets Initiative's trustees paid? +
Science Based Targets Initiative's annual return for the year ending 26 December 2024 reports that one or more trustees received payments or other benefits. Charity law allows this only in limited circumstances; the trustees' annual report should explain it.
When was Science Based Targets Initiative registered as a charity? +
Science Based Targets Initiative was entered on the register on 16 November 2023. It is also a company registered at Companies House (company number 14960097).
How does CharityCompare score Science Based Targets Initiative? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in Science Based Targets Initiative's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and Science Based Targets Initiative's most recent accounts cover 2024. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.