Common questions about Safer Communities Limited's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is Safer Communities Limited a good charity? +
Safer Communities Limited scores 68 out of 100 (3 stars — Needs improvement) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are up to date. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is Safer Communities Limited a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists Safer Communities Limited as a registered charity (charity number 1112657). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=1112657&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is Safer Communities Limited's charity number? +
Safer Communities Limited's charity number is 1112657. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is Safer Communities Limited's charity rating? +
Safer Communities Limited scores 68 out of 100 on CharityCompare (3 stars — Needs improvement). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does Safer Communities Limited have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for Safer Communities Limited. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (none flagged on this profile). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches Safer Communities Limited? +
Safer Communities Limited does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are Safer Communities Limited's overheads? +
Across the recent disclosed accounts used for this score, fundraising costs were about 0% of total expenditure and fundraising plus separately reported governance figures amount to about 0% of expenditure (2023–2025, disclosed years); these categories can overlap, so this is not a distinct total of all administration costs at Safer Communities Limited. Safer Communities Limited's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports 1 employee paid more than £60,000. The highest reported pay band is £60,001–£70,000 (1 employee). Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does Safer Communities Limited receive? +
Safer Communities Limited reported £764k total income in its 2025 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: declining.
Are Safer Communities Limited's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: up to date (last filing 2026-01-29). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is Safer Communities Limited based? +
Safer Communities Limited's registered contact address is in Middlesbrough (TS18 3TX). It tells the regulator it operates in England and Wales, with a focus on children & youth.
How much is Safer Communities Limited's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. Safer Communities Limited's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports 1 employee paid more than £60,000. The highest reported pay band is £60,001–£70,000 (1 employee). Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Where does Safer Communities Limited's money come from? +
Safer Communities Limited reported £764k total income for the year ending 31 March 2025. The largest sources were charitable activities £730k (96%), trading and fundraising events £21k (3%), investments £6,797 (1%).
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to Safer Communities Limited? +
The register records Safer Communities Limited as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid, so a UK taxpayer can usually add 25p to every £1 they give by making a Gift Aid declaration.
Are Safer Communities Limited's trustees paid? +
Safer Communities Limited's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports that no trustee received remuneration or other benefits from the charity.
What was Safer Communities Limited previously called? +
The register lists this previous name for Safer Communities Limited: Safe in Tees Valley Limited.
When was Safer Communities Limited registered as a charity? +
Safer Communities Limited was entered on the register on 9 January 2006. It is also a company registered at Companies House (company number 03186535).
How does CharityCompare score Safer Communities Limited? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in Safer Communities Limited's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and Safer Communities Limited's most recent accounts cover 2025. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.