Common questions about Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Lancashire East Branch's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Lancashire East Branch a good charity? +
Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Lancashire East Branch scores 55 out of 100 (2 stars — Poor) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are up to date. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Lancashire East Branch a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Lancashire East Branch as a registered charity (charity number 232253). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=232253&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Lancashire East Branch's charity number? +
Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Lancashire East Branch's charity number is 232253. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Lancashire East Branch's charity rating? +
Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Lancashire East Branch scores 55 out of 100 on CharityCompare (2 stars — Poor). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Lancashire East Branch have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Lancashire East Branch. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (none flagged on this profile). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Lancashire East Branch? +
Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Lancashire East Branch does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Lancashire East Branch's overheads? +
Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Lancashire East Branch's recent UK regulator filings do not disclose a fundraising or governance cost split, so no official overhead percentage is available. Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Lancashire East Branch's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Lancashire East Branch receive? +
Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Lancashire East Branch reported £481k total income in its 2025 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: growing.
Are Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Lancashire East Branch's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: up to date (last filing 2026-06-25). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Lancashire East Branch based? +
Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Lancashire East Branch's registered contact address is in Blackburn (BB5 6NN). It tells the regulator it operates in Lancashire, Blackburn With Darwen, with a focus on animals.
How much is Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Lancashire East Branch's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Lancashire East Branch's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Lancashire East Branch? +
The register records Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Lancashire East Branch as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid, so a UK taxpayer can usually add 25p to every £1 they give by making a Gift Aid declaration.
Are Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Lancashire East Branch's trustees paid? +
Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Lancashire East Branch's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2025 reports that no trustee received remuneration or other benefits from the charity.
What was Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Lancashire East Branch previously called? +
The register lists this previous name for Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Lancashire East Branch: RSPCA - Lancashire - East Branch.
When was Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Lancashire East Branch registered as a charity? +
Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Lancashire East Branch was entered on the register on 10 January 1969.
How does CharityCompare score Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Lancashire East Branch? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Lancashire East Branch's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Lancashire East Branch's most recent accounts cover 2025. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.