Common questions about Movement to Work's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is Movement to Work a good charity? +
Movement to Work scores 70 out of 100 (3 stars — Needs improvement) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are up to date. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is Movement to Work a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists Movement to Work as a registered charity (charity number 1160325). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=1160325&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is Movement to Work's charity number? +
Movement to Work's charity number is 1160325. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is Movement to Work's charity rating? +
Movement to Work scores 70 out of 100 on CharityCompare (3 stars — Needs improvement). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does Movement to Work have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for Movement to Work. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (none flagged on this profile). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches Movement to Work? +
Movement to Work does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are Movement to Work's overheads? +
Across the recent disclosed accounts used for this score, fundraising costs were about 0% of total expenditure and fundraising plus separately reported governance figures amount to about 0% of expenditure (2023–2025, disclosed years); these categories can overlap, so this is not a distinct total of all administration costs at Movement to Work. Movement to Work's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does Movement to Work receive? +
Movement to Work reported £868k total income in its 2025 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: growing.
Are Movement to Work's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: up to date (last filing 2026-01-09). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is Movement to Work based? +
Movement to Work's registered contact address is in London (SE1 8EG). It tells the regulator it operates in England and Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland, with a focus on education.
How much is Movement to Work's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. Movement to Work's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Where does Movement to Work's money come from? +
Movement to Work reported £868k total income for the year ending 31 March 2025. The largest sources were donations and legacies £543k (63%), other income £325k (37%).
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to Movement to Work? +
The register does not record Movement to Work as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid. Ask the charity before assuming a donation can be Gift Aided.
Are Movement to Work's trustees paid? +
Movement to Work's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports that no trustee received remuneration or other benefits from the charity.
When was Movement to Work registered as a charity? +
Movement to Work was entered on the register on 4 February 2015.
How does CharityCompare score Movement to Work? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in Movement to Work's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and Movement to Work's most recent accounts cover 2025. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.