Common questions about Merseyside Jewish Community Care's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is Merseyside Jewish Community Care a good charity? +
Merseyside Jewish Community Care scores 35 out of 100 (2 stars — Poor) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are late. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is Merseyside Jewish Community Care a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists Merseyside Jewish Community Care as a registered charity (charity number 1122902). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=1122902&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is Merseyside Jewish Community Care's charity number? +
Merseyside Jewish Community Care's charity number is 1122902. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is Merseyside Jewish Community Care's charity rating? +
Merseyside Jewish Community Care scores 35 out of 100 on CharityCompare (2 stars — Poor). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does Merseyside Jewish Community Care have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for Merseyside Jewish Community Care. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (one red flag on this profile: late accounts filing). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches Merseyside Jewish Community Care? +
Merseyside Jewish Community Care does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are Merseyside Jewish Community Care's overheads? +
Merseyside Jewish Community Care's recent UK regulator filings do not disclose a fundraising or governance cost split, so no official overhead percentage is available. Merseyside Jewish Community Care's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does Merseyside Jewish Community Care receive? +
Merseyside Jewish Community Care reported £225k total income in its 2025 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: declining.
Are Merseyside Jewish Community Care's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: late (last filing 2025-12-18). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is Merseyside Jewish Community Care based? +
Merseyside Jewish Community Care's registered contact address is in Liverpool (L15 3JL). It tells the regulator it operates in Knowsley, Liverpool City, Sefton, St Helens, Wirral, Halton, with a focus on poverty relief.
How much is Merseyside Jewish Community Care's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. Merseyside Jewish Community Care's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to Merseyside Jewish Community Care? +
The register records Merseyside Jewish Community Care as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid, so a UK taxpayer can usually add 25p to every £1 they give by making a Gift Aid declaration.
Are Merseyside Jewish Community Care's trustees paid? +
Merseyside Jewish Community Care's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports that no trustee received remuneration or other benefits from the charity.
When was Merseyside Jewish Community Care registered as a charity? +
Merseyside Jewish Community Care was entered on the register on 21 February 2008. It is also a company registered at Companies House (company number 06087087).
How does CharityCompare score Merseyside Jewish Community Care? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in Merseyside Jewish Community Care's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and Merseyside Jewish Community Care's most recent accounts cover 2025. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.