Common questions about Make Known's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is Make Known a good charity? +
Make Known scores 82 out of 100 (4 stars — Good) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are up to date. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is Make Known a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists Make Known as a registered charity (charity number 1192501). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=1192501&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is Make Known's charity number? +
Make Known's charity number is 1192501. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is Make Known's charity rating? +
Make Known scores 82 out of 100 on CharityCompare (4 stars — Good). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does Make Known have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for Make Known. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (none flagged on this profile). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches Make Known? +
Make Known does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are Make Known's overheads? +
Across the recent disclosed accounts used for this score, fundraising costs were about 0% of total expenditure and fundraising plus separately reported governance figures amount to about 0% of expenditure (2024); these categories can overlap, so this is not a distinct total of all administration costs at Make Known. Make Known's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2024 reports 2 employees paid more than £60,000. The highest reported pay band is £80,001–£90,000 (1 employee). Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does Make Known receive? +
Make Known reported £562k total income in its 2024 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: growing.
Are Make Known's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: up to date (last filing 2025-10-22). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is Make Known based? +
Make Known's registered contact address is in London (EC3V 9BQ). It tells the regulator it operates in England and Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland, with a focus on religion.
How much is Make Known's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. Make Known's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2024 reports 2 employees paid more than £60,000. The highest reported pay band is £80,001–£90,000 (1 employee). Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Where does Make Known's money come from? +
Make Known reported £562k total income for the year ending 31 December 2024. The largest sources were donations and legacies £553k (98%), investments £7,327 (1%), other income £1,507 (0%).
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to Make Known? +
The register records Make Known as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid, so a UK taxpayer can usually add 25p to every £1 they give by making a Gift Aid declaration.
Are Make Known's trustees paid? +
Make Known's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2024 reports that no trustee received remuneration or other benefits from the charity.
What was Make Known previously called? +
The register lists this previous name for Make Known: The Word One to One.
When was Make Known registered as a charity? +
Make Known was entered on the register on 24 November 2020.
How does CharityCompare score Make Known? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in Make Known's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and Make Known's most recent accounts cover 2024. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.