Common questions about Leeds South and East Foodbank's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is Leeds South and East Foodbank a good charity? +
Leeds South and East Foodbank scores 55 out of 100 (2 stars — Poor) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are up to date. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is Leeds South and East Foodbank a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists Leeds South and East Foodbank as a registered charity (charity number 1154363). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=1154363&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is Leeds South and East Foodbank's charity number? +
Leeds South and East Foodbank's charity number is 1154363. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is Leeds South and East Foodbank's charity rating? +
Leeds South and East Foodbank scores 55 out of 100 on CharityCompare (2 stars — Poor). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does Leeds South and East Foodbank have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for Leeds South and East Foodbank. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (none flagged on this profile). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches Leeds South and East Foodbank? +
Leeds South and East Foodbank does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are Leeds South and East Foodbank's overheads? +
Across the recent disclosed accounts used for this score, fundraising costs were about 0% of total expenditure and fundraising plus separately reported governance figures amount to about 0% of expenditure (2023–2024, disclosed years); these categories can overlap, so this is not a distinct total of all administration costs at Leeds South and East Foodbank. Leeds South and East Foodbank's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does Leeds South and East Foodbank receive? +
Leeds South and East Foodbank reported £471k total income in its 2025 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: stable.
Are Leeds South and East Foodbank's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: up to date (last filing 2026-01-28). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is Leeds South and East Foodbank based? +
Leeds South and East Foodbank's registered contact address is in Leeds (LS11 0LR). It tells the regulator it operates in Leeds City, with a focus on poverty relief.
How much is Leeds South and East Foodbank's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. Leeds South and East Foodbank's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to Leeds South and East Foodbank? +
The register records Leeds South and East Foodbank as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid, so a UK taxpayer can usually add 25p to every £1 they give by making a Gift Aid declaration.
Are Leeds South and East Foodbank's trustees paid? +
Leeds South and East Foodbank's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports that no trustee received remuneration or other benefits from the charity.
What was Leeds South and East Foodbank previously called? +
The register lists this previous name for Leeds South and East Foodbank: Leeds Foodbank.
When was Leeds South and East Foodbank registered as a charity? +
Leeds South and East Foodbank was entered on the register on 28 October 2013.
How does CharityCompare score Leeds South and East Foodbank? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in Leeds South and East Foodbank's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and Leeds South and East Foodbank's most recent accounts cover 2025. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.