Common questions about Humanitas's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is Humanitas a good charity? +
Humanitas scores 55 out of 100 (2 stars — Poor) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are up to date. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is Humanitas a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists Humanitas as a registered charity (charity number 1114639). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=1114639&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is Humanitas's charity number? +
Humanitas's charity number is 1114639. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is Humanitas's charity rating? +
Humanitas scores 55 out of 100 on CharityCompare (2 stars — Poor). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does Humanitas have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for Humanitas. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (none flagged on this profile). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches Humanitas? +
Humanitas does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are Humanitas's overheads? +
Humanitas's recent UK regulator filings do not disclose a fundraising or governance cost split, so no official overhead percentage is available. Humanitas's annual return for the year ending 28 September 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does Humanitas receive? +
Humanitas reported £351k total income in its 2025 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: stable.
Are Humanitas's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: up to date (last filing 2026-06-10). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is Humanitas based? +
Humanitas's registered contact address is in Stevenage (SG5 1BG). It tells the regulator it operates in Occupied Palestinian Territories, Ghana, Romania, India, Indonesia, Bangladesh, with a focus on international aid.
How much is Humanitas's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. Humanitas's annual return for the year ending 28 September 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to Humanitas? +
The register records Humanitas as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid, so a UK taxpayer can usually add 25p to every £1 they give by making a Gift Aid declaration.
Are Humanitas's trustees paid? +
Humanitas's annual return for the year ending 28 September 2025 reports that one or more trustees received payments or other benefits (payments for providing services). Charity law allows this only in limited circumstances; the trustees' annual report should explain it.
What was Humanitas previously called? +
The register lists these previous names for Humanitas: F.r.o.d.o.; Foundation for the Relief of Disabled Orphans; Frodo; Link; Liberating Institutionalised & Neglected Kids; Humanitas Charity.
When was Humanitas registered as a charity? +
Humanitas was entered on the register on 13 June 2006. It is also a company registered at Companies House (company number 05761174).
How does CharityCompare score Humanitas? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in Humanitas's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and Humanitas's most recent accounts cover 2025. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.