Common questions about Hartlepool Citizens Advice Bureau's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is Hartlepool Citizens Advice Bureau a good charity? +
Hartlepool Citizens Advice Bureau scores 90 out of 100 (5 stars — Exceptional) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are up to date. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is Hartlepool Citizens Advice Bureau a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists Hartlepool Citizens Advice Bureau as a registered charity (charity number 1140773). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=1140773&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is Hartlepool Citizens Advice Bureau's charity number? +
Hartlepool Citizens Advice Bureau's charity number is 1140773. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is Hartlepool Citizens Advice Bureau's charity rating? +
Hartlepool Citizens Advice Bureau scores 90 out of 100 on CharityCompare (5 stars — Exceptional). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does Hartlepool Citizens Advice Bureau have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for Hartlepool Citizens Advice Bureau. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (none flagged on this profile). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches Hartlepool Citizens Advice Bureau? +
Hartlepool Citizens Advice Bureau does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are Hartlepool Citizens Advice Bureau's overheads? +
Across the recent disclosed accounts used for this score, fundraising costs were about 0% of total expenditure and fundraising plus separately reported governance figures amount to about 0% of expenditure (2025); these categories can overlap, so this is not a distinct total of all administration costs at Hartlepool Citizens Advice Bureau. Hartlepool Citizens Advice Bureau's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does Hartlepool Citizens Advice Bureau receive? +
Hartlepool Citizens Advice Bureau reported £605k total income in its 2025 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: growing.
Are Hartlepool Citizens Advice Bureau's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: up to date (last filing 2025-12-24). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is Hartlepool Citizens Advice Bureau based? +
Hartlepool Citizens Advice Bureau's registered contact address is in Middlesbrough (TS26 9HP). It tells the regulator it operates in Hartlepool, with a focus on legal advice.
How much is Hartlepool Citizens Advice Bureau's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. Hartlepool Citizens Advice Bureau's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Where does Hartlepool Citizens Advice Bureau's money come from? +
Hartlepool Citizens Advice Bureau reported £605k total income for the year ending 31 March 2025. The largest sources were donations and legacies £585k (97%), charitable activities £12k (2%), trading and fundraising events £8,300 (1%).
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to Hartlepool Citizens Advice Bureau? +
The register records Hartlepool Citizens Advice Bureau as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid, so a UK taxpayer can usually add 25p to every £1 they give by making a Gift Aid declaration.
Are Hartlepool Citizens Advice Bureau's trustees paid? +
Hartlepool Citizens Advice Bureau's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports that no trustee received remuneration or other benefits from the charity.
When was Hartlepool Citizens Advice Bureau registered as a charity? +
Hartlepool Citizens Advice Bureau was entered on the register on 10 March 2011. It is also a company registered at Companies House (company number 07508891).
How does CharityCompare score Hartlepool Citizens Advice Bureau? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in Hartlepool Citizens Advice Bureau's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and Hartlepool Citizens Advice Bureau's most recent accounts cover 2025. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.