Common questions about Efa London's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is Efa London a good charity? +
Efa London scores 79 out of 100 (4 stars — Good) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are late. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is Efa London a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists Efa London as a registered charity (charity number 1133268). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=1133268&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is Efa London's charity number? +
Efa London's charity number is 1133268. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is Efa London's charity rating? +
Efa London scores 79 out of 100 on CharityCompare (4 stars — Good). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does Efa London have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for Efa London. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (one red flag on this profile: late accounts filing). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches Efa London? +
Efa London does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are Efa London's overheads? +
Across the recent disclosed accounts used for this score, fundraising costs were about 0% of total expenditure and fundraising plus separately reported governance figures amount to about 0% of expenditure (2025); these categories can overlap, so this is not a distinct total of all administration costs at Efa London. Efa London's annual return for the year ending 31 July 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does Efa London receive? +
Efa London reported £564k total income in its 2025 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: stable.
Are Efa London's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: late (last filing 2026-05-21). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is Efa London based? +
Efa London's registered contact address is in London (SE1 8NY). It tells the regulator it operates in London, with a focus on human rights.
How much is Efa London's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. Efa London's annual return for the year ending 31 July 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Where does Efa London's money come from? +
Efa London reported £564k total income for the year ending 31 July 2025. The largest sources were donations and legacies £412k (73%), charitable activities £150k (27%), investments £2,917 (1%).
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to Efa London? +
The register records Efa London as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid, so a UK taxpayer can usually add 25p to every £1 they give by making a Gift Aid declaration.
Are Efa London's trustees paid? +
Efa London's annual return for the year ending 31 July 2025 reports that one or more trustees received payments or other benefits (payments for providing services). Charity law allows this only in limited circumstances; the trustees' annual report should explain it.
When was Efa London registered as a charity? +
Efa London was entered on the register on 11 December 2009. It is also a company registered at Companies House (company number 06909738).
How does CharityCompare score Efa London? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in Efa London's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and Efa London's most recent accounts cover 2025. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.