Common questions about Dhammakaya North United Kingdom's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is Dhammakaya North United Kingdom a good charity? +
Dhammakaya North United Kingdom scores 31 out of 100 (2 stars — Poor) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are late. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is Dhammakaya North United Kingdom a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists Dhammakaya North United Kingdom as a registered charity (charity number 1174069). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=1174069&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is Dhammakaya North United Kingdom's charity number? +
Dhammakaya North United Kingdom's charity number is 1174069. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is Dhammakaya North United Kingdom's charity rating? +
Dhammakaya North United Kingdom scores 31 out of 100 on CharityCompare (2 stars — Poor). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does Dhammakaya North United Kingdom have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for Dhammakaya North United Kingdom. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (2 red flags on this profile: late accounts filing; poor filing history). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches Dhammakaya North United Kingdom? +
Dhammakaya North United Kingdom does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are Dhammakaya North United Kingdom's overheads? +
Dhammakaya North United Kingdom's recent UK regulator filings do not disclose a fundraising or governance cost split, so no official overhead percentage is available. Dhammakaya North United Kingdom's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does Dhammakaya North United Kingdom receive? +
Dhammakaya North United Kingdom reported £203k total income in its 2025 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: declining.
Are Dhammakaya North United Kingdom's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: late (last filing 2026-01-13). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is Dhammakaya North United Kingdom based? +
Dhammakaya North United Kingdom's registered contact address is in Newcastle (NE31 1DR). It tells the regulator it operates in England and Wales, Denmark, France, Norway, Sweden, Scotland, with a focus on religion.
How much is Dhammakaya North United Kingdom's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. Dhammakaya North United Kingdom's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to Dhammakaya North United Kingdom? +
The register records Dhammakaya North United Kingdom as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid, so a UK taxpayer can usually add 25p to every £1 they give by making a Gift Aid declaration.
Are Dhammakaya North United Kingdom's trustees paid? +
Dhammakaya North United Kingdom's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports that one or more trustees received payments or other benefits. Charity law allows this only in limited circumstances; the trustees' annual report should explain it.
What was Dhammakaya North United Kingdom previously called? +
The register lists this previous name for Dhammakaya North United Kingdom: Dhammakaya Scandinavia International.
When was Dhammakaya North United Kingdom registered as a charity? +
Dhammakaya North United Kingdom was entered on the register on 1 August 2017. It is also a company registered at Companies House (company number 06431210).
How does CharityCompare score Dhammakaya North United Kingdom? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in Dhammakaya North United Kingdom's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and Dhammakaya North United Kingdom's most recent accounts cover 2025. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.