Common questions about David Rattray Foundation's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is David Rattray Foundation a good charity? +
David Rattray Foundation scores 49 out of 100 (2 stars — Poor) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are up to date. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is David Rattray Foundation a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists David Rattray Foundation as a registered charity (charity number 1119353). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=1119353&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is David Rattray Foundation's charity number? +
David Rattray Foundation's charity number is 1119353. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is David Rattray Foundation's charity rating? +
David Rattray Foundation scores 49 out of 100 on CharityCompare (2 stars — Poor). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does David Rattray Foundation have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for David Rattray Foundation. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (none flagged on this profile). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches David Rattray Foundation? +
David Rattray Foundation does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are David Rattray Foundation's overheads? +
David Rattray Foundation's recent UK regulator filings do not disclose a fundraising or governance cost split, so no official overhead percentage is available. David Rattray Foundation's annual return for the year ending 5 April 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does David Rattray Foundation receive? +
David Rattray Foundation reported £383k total income in its 2025 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: check comparability.
Are David Rattray Foundation's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: up to date (last filing 2026-02-02). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is David Rattray Foundation based? +
David Rattray Foundation's registered contact address is in Norwich (NR19 2AJ). It tells the regulator it operates in England and Wales, South Africa, Scotland, Northern Ireland, with a focus on poverty relief.
How much is David Rattray Foundation's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. David Rattray Foundation's annual return for the year ending 5 April 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to David Rattray Foundation? +
The register records David Rattray Foundation as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid, so a UK taxpayer can usually add 25p to every £1 they give by making a Gift Aid declaration.
Are David Rattray Foundation's trustees paid? +
David Rattray Foundation's annual return for the year ending 5 April 2025 reports that no trustee received remuneration or other benefits from the charity.
What was David Rattray Foundation previously called? +
The register lists these previous names for David Rattray Foundation: David Rattray Memorial Trust (UK); David Rattray Memorial Trust.
When was David Rattray Foundation registered as a charity? +
David Rattray Foundation was entered on the register on 23 May 2007.
How does CharityCompare score David Rattray Foundation? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in David Rattray Foundation's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and David Rattray Foundation's most recent accounts cover 2025. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.