Common questions about County in the Community's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is County in the Community a good charity? +
County in the Community scores 55 out of 100 (2 stars — Poor) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are late. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is County in the Community a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists County in the Community as a registered charity (charity number 1172602). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=1172602&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is County in the Community's charity number? +
County in the Community's charity number is 1172602. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is County in the Community's charity rating? +
County in the Community scores 55 out of 100 on CharityCompare (2 stars — Poor). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does County in the Community have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for County in the Community. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (one red flag on this profile: late accounts filing). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches County in the Community? +
County in the Community does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are County in the Community's overheads? +
Across the recent disclosed accounts used for this score, fundraising costs were about 0% of total expenditure and fundraising plus separately reported governance figures amount to about 0% of expenditure (2024); these categories can overlap, so this is not a distinct total of all administration costs at County in the Community. County in the Community's annual return for the year ending 31 August 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does County in the Community receive? +
County in the Community reported £499k total income in its 2025 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: growing.
Are County in the Community's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: late (last filing 2026-06-15). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is County in the Community based? +
County in the Community's registered contact address is in Newport (NP19 0FD). It tells the regulator it operates in Blaenau Gwent, Caerphilly, Monmouthshire, Newport City, Torfaen, with a focus on education.
How much is County in the Community's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. County in the Community's annual return for the year ending 31 August 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to County in the Community? +
The register records County in the Community as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid, so a UK taxpayer can usually add 25p to every £1 they give by making a Gift Aid declaration.
Are County in the Community's trustees paid? +
County in the Community's annual return for the year ending 31 August 2025 reports that no trustee received remuneration or other benefits from the charity.
When was County in the Community registered as a charity? +
County in the Community was entered on the register on 18 April 2017. It is also a company registered at Companies House (company number 09729852).
How does CharityCompare score County in the Community? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in County in the Community's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and County in the Community's most recent accounts cover 2025. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.