Common questions about Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit a good charity? +
Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit scores 73 out of 100 (3 stars — Needs improvement) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are up to date. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit as a registered charity (charity number 1135868). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=1135868&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit's charity number? +
Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit's charity number is 1135868. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit's charity rating? +
Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit scores 73 out of 100 on CharityCompare (3 stars — Needs improvement). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (none flagged on this profile). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit? +
Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit's overheads? +
Across the recent disclosed accounts used for this score, fundraising costs were about 0% of total expenditure and fundraising plus separately reported governance figures amount to about 0% of expenditure (2023–2025, disclosed years); these categories can overlap, so this is not a distinct total of all administration costs at Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit. Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit's annual return for the year ending 31 August 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit receive? +
Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit reported £765k total income in its 2025 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: growing.
Are Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: up to date (last filing 2026-06-12). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit based? +
Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit's registered contact address is in Preston (PR26 6QU). It tells the regulator it operates in Lancashire, with a focus on religion.
How much is Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit's annual return for the year ending 31 August 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Where does Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit's money come from? +
Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit reported £765k total income for the year ending 31 August 2025. The largest sources were charitable activities £732k (96%), investments £27k (4%), other income £5,569 (1%).
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit? +
The register does not record Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid. Ask the charity before assuming a donation can be Gift Aided.
Are Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit's trustees paid? +
Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit's annual return for the year ending 31 August 2025 reports that one or more trustees received payments or other benefits. Charity law allows this only in limited circumstances; the trustees' annual report should explain it.
What was Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit previously called? +
The register lists this previous name for Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit: Chorley Methodist Circuit.
When was Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit registered as a charity? +
Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit was entered on the register on 10 May 2010.
How does CharityCompare score Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and Chorley and Leyland Methodist Circuit's most recent accounts cover 2025. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.