Common questions about Chabad Lubavitch of Bloomsbury - Central London's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is Chabad Lubavitch of Bloomsbury - Central London a good charity? +
Chabad Lubavitch of Bloomsbury - Central London scores 55 out of 100 (2 stars — Poor) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are up to date. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is Chabad Lubavitch of Bloomsbury - Central London a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists Chabad Lubavitch of Bloomsbury - Central London as a registered charity (charity number 1140342). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=1140342&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is Chabad Lubavitch of Bloomsbury - Central London's charity number? +
Chabad Lubavitch of Bloomsbury - Central London's charity number is 1140342. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is Chabad Lubavitch of Bloomsbury - Central London's charity rating? +
Chabad Lubavitch of Bloomsbury - Central London scores 55 out of 100 on CharityCompare (2 stars — Poor). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does Chabad Lubavitch of Bloomsbury - Central London have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for Chabad Lubavitch of Bloomsbury - Central London. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (one red flag on this profile: sharp income decline). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches Chabad Lubavitch of Bloomsbury - Central London? +
Chabad Lubavitch of Bloomsbury - Central London does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are Chabad Lubavitch of Bloomsbury - Central London's overheads? +
Across the recent disclosed accounts used for this score, fundraising costs were about 0% of total expenditure and fundraising plus separately reported governance figures amount to about 0% of expenditure (2023–2024, disclosed years); these categories can overlap, so this is not a distinct total of all administration costs at Chabad Lubavitch of Bloomsbury - Central London. Chabad Lubavitch of Bloomsbury - Central London's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does Chabad Lubavitch of Bloomsbury - Central London receive? +
Chabad Lubavitch of Bloomsbury - Central London reported £422k total income in its 2025 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: stable.
Are Chabad Lubavitch of Bloomsbury - Central London's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: up to date (last filing 2026-07-22). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is Chabad Lubavitch of Bloomsbury - Central London based? +
Chabad Lubavitch of Bloomsbury - Central London's registered contact address is in London (W1W 6RJ). It tells the regulator it operates in Camden, City of Westminster, with a focus on poverty relief.
How much is Chabad Lubavitch of Bloomsbury - Central London's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. Chabad Lubavitch of Bloomsbury - Central London's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to Chabad Lubavitch of Bloomsbury - Central London? +
The register records Chabad Lubavitch of Bloomsbury - Central London as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid, so a UK taxpayer can usually add 25p to every £1 they give by making a Gift Aid declaration.
Are Chabad Lubavitch of Bloomsbury - Central London's trustees paid? +
Chabad Lubavitch of Bloomsbury - Central London's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2025 reports that no trustee received remuneration or other benefits from the charity.
What was Chabad Lubavitch of Bloomsbury - Central London previously called? +
The register lists these previous names for Chabad Lubavitch of Bloomsbury - Central London: Jewish Student Centre Limited; Chabad Lubavitvh of Bloomsbury - Central London.
When was Chabad Lubavitch of Bloomsbury - Central London registered as a charity? +
Chabad Lubavitch of Bloomsbury - Central London was entered on the register on 10 February 2011. It is also a company registered at Companies House (company number 07442727).
How does CharityCompare score Chabad Lubavitch of Bloomsbury - Central London? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in Chabad Lubavitch of Bloomsbury - Central London's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and Chabad Lubavitch of Bloomsbury - Central London's most recent accounts cover 2025. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.