Common questions about Carbon Gap LTD's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is Carbon Gap LTD a good charity? +
Carbon Gap LTD scores 47 out of 100 (2 stars — Poor) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are up to date. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is Carbon Gap LTD a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists Carbon Gap LTD as a registered charity (charity number 1200562). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=1200562&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is Carbon Gap LTD's charity number? +
Carbon Gap LTD's charity number is 1200562. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is Carbon Gap LTD's charity rating? +
Carbon Gap LTD scores 47 out of 100 on CharityCompare (2 stars — Poor). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does Carbon Gap LTD have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for Carbon Gap LTD. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (none flagged on this profile). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches Carbon Gap LTD? +
Carbon Gap LTD does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are Carbon Gap LTD's overheads? +
Across the recent disclosed accounts used for this score, fundraising costs were about 0% of total expenditure and fundraising plus separately reported governance figures amount to about 0% of expenditure (2023–2024, disclosed years); these categories can overlap, so this is not a distinct total of all administration costs at Carbon Gap LTD. Carbon Gap LTD's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2024 reports 6 employees paid more than £60,000, including 3 employees paid more than £100,000. The highest reported pay band is £250,001–£300,000 (1 employee). Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does Carbon Gap LTD receive? +
Carbon Gap LTD reported £2.5m total income in its 2024 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: limited history.
Are Carbon Gap LTD's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: up to date (last filing 2025-09-26). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is Carbon Gap LTD based? +
Carbon Gap LTD's registered contact address is in London (WC2H 9JQ). It tells the regulator it operates in England and Wales, Scotland, France, Germany, Belgium, Ireland, with a focus on environment.
How much is Carbon Gap LTD's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. Carbon Gap LTD's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2024 reports 6 employees paid more than £60,000, including 3 employees paid more than £100,000. The highest reported pay band is £250,001–£300,000 (1 employee). Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Where does Carbon Gap LTD's money come from? +
Carbon Gap LTD reported £2.5m total income for the year ending 31 December 2024. The largest sources were donations and legacies £2.4m (100%), investments £718 (0%).
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to Carbon Gap LTD? +
The register does not record Carbon Gap LTD as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid. Ask the charity before assuming a donation can be Gift Aided.
Are Carbon Gap LTD's trustees paid? +
Carbon Gap LTD's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2024 reports that one or more trustees received payments or other benefits (payments for providing services). Charity law allows this only in limited circumstances; the trustees' annual report should explain it.
What was Carbon Gap LTD previously called? +
The register lists this previous name for Carbon Gap LTD: Carbon Gap.
When was Carbon Gap LTD registered as a charity? +
Carbon Gap LTD was entered on the register on 3 October 2022. It is also a company registered at Companies House (company number 13557860).
How does CharityCompare score Carbon Gap LTD? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in Carbon Gap LTD's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and Carbon Gap LTD's most recent accounts cover 2024. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.