Common questions about Candy's Hound Rescue International's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is Candy's Hound Rescue International a good charity? +
Candy's Hound Rescue International scores 70 out of 100 (3 stars — Needs improvement) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are up to date. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is Candy's Hound Rescue International a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists Candy's Hound Rescue International as a registered charity (charity number 1179928). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=1179928&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is Candy's Hound Rescue International's charity number? +
Candy's Hound Rescue International's charity number is 1179928. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is Candy's Hound Rescue International's charity rating? +
Candy's Hound Rescue International scores 70 out of 100 on CharityCompare (3 stars — Needs improvement). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does Candy's Hound Rescue International have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for Candy's Hound Rescue International. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (none flagged on this profile). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches Candy's Hound Rescue International? +
Candy's Hound Rescue International does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are Candy's Hound Rescue International's overheads? +
Across the recent disclosed accounts used for this score, fundraising costs were about 0% of total expenditure and fundraising plus separately reported governance figures amount to about 0% of expenditure (2024); these categories can overlap, so this is not a distinct total of all administration costs at Candy's Hound Rescue International. Candy's Hound Rescue International's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2024 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does Candy's Hound Rescue International receive? +
Candy's Hound Rescue International reported £693k total income in its 2024 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: growing.
Are Candy's Hound Rescue International's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: up to date (last filing 2025-10-25). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is Candy's Hound Rescue International based? +
Candy's Hound Rescue International's register entry is at United Kingdom. It tells the regulator it operates in Cyprus, Romania, Spain, Vietnam, England and Wales, China, with a focus on animals.
How much is Candy's Hound Rescue International's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. Candy's Hound Rescue International's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2024 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Where does Candy's Hound Rescue International's money come from? +
Candy's Hound Rescue International reported £693k total income for the year ending 31 December 2024. The largest sources were donations and legacies £693k (100%). Legacies (gifts in wills) contributed £120k.
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to Candy's Hound Rescue International? +
The register records Candy's Hound Rescue International as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid, so a UK taxpayer can usually add 25p to every £1 they give by making a Gift Aid declaration.
Are Candy's Hound Rescue International's trustees paid? +
Candy's Hound Rescue International's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2024 reports that no trustee received remuneration or other benefits from the charity.
What was Candy's Hound Rescue International previously called? +
The register lists this previous name for Candy's Hound Rescue International: Candy Cane Rescue.
When was Candy's Hound Rescue International registered as a charity? +
Candy's Hound Rescue International was entered on the register on 14 September 2018.
How does CharityCompare score Candy's Hound Rescue International? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in Candy's Hound Rescue International's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and Candy's Hound Rescue International's most recent accounts cover 2024. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.