Common questions about British African Co-Operative Foundation's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is British African Co-Operative Foundation a good charity? +
British African Co-Operative Foundation scores 41 out of 100 (2 stars — Poor) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are late. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is British African Co-Operative Foundation a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists British African Co-Operative Foundation as a registered charity (charity number 1103468). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=1103468&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is British African Co-Operative Foundation's charity number? +
British African Co-Operative Foundation's charity number is 1103468. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is British African Co-Operative Foundation's charity rating? +
British African Co-Operative Foundation scores 41 out of 100 on CharityCompare (2 stars — Poor). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does British African Co-Operative Foundation have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for British African Co-Operative Foundation. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (one red flag on this profile: late accounts filing). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches British African Co-Operative Foundation? +
British African Co-Operative Foundation does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are British African Co-Operative Foundation's overheads? +
Across the recent disclosed accounts used for this score, fundraising costs were about 0% of total expenditure and fundraising plus separately reported governance figures amount to about 0% of expenditure (2025); these categories can overlap, so this is not a distinct total of all administration costs at British African Co-Operative Foundation. British African Co-Operative Foundation's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does British African Co-Operative Foundation receive? +
British African Co-Operative Foundation reported £611k total income in its 2025 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: check comparability.
Are British African Co-Operative Foundation's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: late (last filing 2026-01-27). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is British African Co-Operative Foundation based? +
British African Co-Operative Foundation's registered contact address is in London (W3 7UD). It tells the regulator it operates in London, with a focus on poverty relief.
How much is British African Co-Operative Foundation's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. British African Co-Operative Foundation's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Where does British African Co-Operative Foundation's money come from? +
British African Co-Operative Foundation reported £611k total income for the year ending 31 March 2025. The largest sources were donations and legacies £611k (100%).
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to British African Co-Operative Foundation? +
The register does not record British African Co-Operative Foundation as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid. Ask the charity before assuming a donation can be Gift Aided.
Are British African Co-Operative Foundation's trustees paid? +
British African Co-Operative Foundation's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports that no trustee received remuneration or other benefits from the charity.
What was British African Co-Operative Foundation previously called? +
The register lists this previous name for British African Co-Operative Foundation: African Refugees Project.
When was British African Co-Operative Foundation registered as a charity? +
British African Co-Operative Foundation was entered on the register on 28 April 2004.
How does CharityCompare score British African Co-Operative Foundation? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in British African Co-Operative Foundation's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and British African Co-Operative Foundation's most recent accounts cover 2025. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.