Common questions about Aspen Institute UK's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is Aspen Institute UK a good charity? +
Aspen Institute UK scores 47 out of 100 (2 stars — Poor) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are up to date. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is Aspen Institute UK a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists Aspen Institute UK as a registered charity (charity number 1186896). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=1186896&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is Aspen Institute UK's charity number? +
Aspen Institute UK's charity number is 1186896. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is Aspen Institute UK's charity rating? +
Aspen Institute UK scores 47 out of 100 on CharityCompare (2 stars — Poor). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does Aspen Institute UK have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for Aspen Institute UK. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (none flagged on this profile). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches Aspen Institute UK? +
Aspen Institute UK does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are Aspen Institute UK's overheads? +
Across the recent disclosed accounts used for this score, fundraising costs were about 0% of total expenditure and fundraising plus separately reported governance figures amount to about 0% of expenditure (2023); these categories can overlap, so this is not a distinct total of all administration costs at Aspen Institute UK. Aspen Institute UK's annual return for the year ending 31 October 2025 reports 1 employee paid more than £60,000. The highest reported pay band is £80,001–£90,000 (1 employee). Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does Aspen Institute UK receive? +
Aspen Institute UK reported £321k total income in its 2025 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: check comparability.
Are Aspen Institute UK's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: up to date (last filing 2026-08-24). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is Aspen Institute UK based? +
Aspen Institute UK's registered contact address is in Stevenage (SG5 1RD). It tells the regulator it operates in England and Wales, with a focus on education.
How much is Aspen Institute UK's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. Aspen Institute UK's annual return for the year ending 31 October 2025 reports 1 employee paid more than £60,000. The highest reported pay band is £80,001–£90,000 (1 employee). Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to Aspen Institute UK? +
The register records Aspen Institute UK as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid, so a UK taxpayer can usually add 25p to every £1 they give by making a Gift Aid declaration.
Are Aspen Institute UK's trustees paid? +
Aspen Institute UK's annual return for the year ending 31 October 2025 reports that no trustee received remuneration or other benefits from the charity.
What was Aspen Institute UK previously called? +
The register lists this previous name for Aspen Institute UK: Aspen Initiative UK.
When was Aspen Institute UK registered as a charity? +
Aspen Institute UK was entered on the register on 11 December 2019. It is also a company registered at Companies House (company number 11029944).
How does CharityCompare score Aspen Institute UK? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in Aspen Institute UK's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and Aspen Institute UK's most recent accounts cover 2025. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.