Common questions about Action for Stammering Children's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is Action for Stammering Children a good charity? +
Action for Stammering Children scores 45 out of 100 (2 stars — Poor) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are up to date. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is Action for Stammering Children a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists Action for Stammering Children as a registered charity (charity number 801171). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=801171&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is Action for Stammering Children's charity number? +
Action for Stammering Children's charity number is 801171. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is Action for Stammering Children's charity rating? +
Action for Stammering Children scores 45 out of 100 on CharityCompare (2 stars — Poor). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does Action for Stammering Children have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for Action for Stammering Children. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (none flagged on this profile). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches Action for Stammering Children? +
Action for Stammering Children does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are Action for Stammering Children's overheads? +
Action for Stammering Children's recent UK regulator filings do not disclose a fundraising or governance cost split, so no official overhead percentage is available. Action for Stammering Children's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports 1 employee paid more than £60,000. The highest reported pay band is £70,001–£80,000 (1 employee). Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does Action for Stammering Children receive? +
Action for Stammering Children reported £310k total income in its 2025 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: declining.
Are Action for Stammering Children's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: up to date (last filing 2025-12-18). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is Action for Stammering Children based? +
Action for Stammering Children's registered contact address is in London (EC1R 0JG). It tells the regulator it operates in England, with a focus on disability.
How much is Action for Stammering Children's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. Action for Stammering Children's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports 1 employee paid more than £60,000. The highest reported pay band is £70,001–£80,000 (1 employee). Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to Action for Stammering Children? +
The register records Action for Stammering Children as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid, so a UK taxpayer can usually add 25p to every £1 they give by making a Gift Aid declaration.
Are Action for Stammering Children's trustees paid? +
Action for Stammering Children's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports that no trustee received remuneration or other benefits from the charity.
What was Action for Stammering Children previously called? +
The register lists these previous names for Action for Stammering Children: The Association for Research Into Stammering in Childhood; The Michael Palin Centre for Stammering Children.
When was Action for Stammering Children registered as a charity? +
Action for Stammering Children was entered on the register on 21 March 1989. It is also a company registered at Companies House (company number 02328627).
How does CharityCompare score Action for Stammering Children? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in Action for Stammering Children's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and Action for Stammering Children's most recent accounts cover 2025. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.