Common questions about Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited a good charity? +
Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited scores 65 out of 100 (3 stars — Needs improvement) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are late. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited as a registered charity (charity number 257782). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=257782&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited's charity number? +
Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited's charity number is 257782. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited's charity rating? +
Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited scores 65 out of 100 on CharityCompare (3 stars — Needs improvement). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (one red flag on this profile: late accounts filing). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited? +
Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited's overheads? +
Across the recent disclosed accounts used for this score, fundraising costs were about 0% of total expenditure and fundraising plus separately reported governance figures amount to about 0% of expenditure (2023–2025, disclosed years); these categories can overlap, so this is not a distinct total of all administration costs at Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited. Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited receive? +
Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited reported £4.0m total income in its 2025 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: growing.
Are Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: late (last filing 2025-12-09). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited based? +
Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited's registered contact address is in Chelmsford (CM7 9EH). It tells the regulator it operates in Essex, with a focus on homelessness.
How much is Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Where does Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited's money come from? +
Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited reported £5,220 total income for the year ending 31 March 2025. The largest sources were donations and legacies £5,220 (100%).
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited? +
The register records Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid, so a UK taxpayer can usually add 25p to every £1 they give by making a Gift Aid declaration.
Are Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited's trustees paid? +
Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited's annual return for the year ending 31 March 2025 reports that no trustee received remuneration or other benefits from the charity.
What was Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited previously called? +
The register lists this previous name for Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited: The Abbeyfield Braintree and Bocking Society Limited.
When was Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited registered as a charity? +
Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited was entered on the register on 12 February 1969. It is also a company registered at Companies House (company number 00945603).
How does CharityCompare score Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and Abbeyfield Braintree, Bocking and Felsted Society Limited's most recent accounts cover 2025. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.