Common questions about Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute's rating, finances, and Charity Commission status.
Is Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute a good charity? +
Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute scores 67 out of 100 (3 stars — Needs improvement) on CharityCompare's Clarity Score, our independent read of its UK regulator filings. Its recent filings do not disclose a charitable-activities spend split and its accounts are up to date. That reflects how transparent and financially healthy it looks on paper — it does not measure the real-world impact of its work, so treat it as one factor alongside the cause you care about. CharityCompare never tells you where to donate.
Is Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute a legitimate charity? +
The register data used for this profile lists Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute as a registered charity (charity number 1037236). Verify it on the official register: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regId=1037236&subId=0. Check the current entry and the identity of anyone requesting money. Registration does not verify a particular appeal; Clarity Score summarises filing transparency, not programme impact.
What is Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute's charity number? +
Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute's charity number is 1037236. Check that number on the official register (Charity Commission, OSCR or CCNI) or this CharityCompare profile before you donate — scammers sometimes reuse real numbers on fake appeals.
What is Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute's charity rating? +
Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute scores 67 out of 100 on CharityCompare (3 stars — Needs improvement). The Clarity Score (method v1.1) sums four pillars from UK regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 pts), Financial Health (30), Financial Efficiency (20), and Community Support (10). Stars use the same bands as those labels — 90+ is 5★ Exceptional. It is not an impact ranking.
Does Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute have reviews and complaints? +
CharityCompare does not host public user reviews for Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute. Instead you get a filing-based Clarity Score, cause spend, reserves and red flags such as late accounts (none flagged on this profile). For formal complaints about a charity, contact the Charity Commission, OSCR, CCNI or the Fundraising Regulator as appropriate.
How much of my donation reaches Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute? +
Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute does not disclose a charitable-activities spend split in its recent UK regulator filings, so there is no official figure for how much of a donation reaches the cause. CharityCompare reports this as "not disclosed" rather than assuming a number.
What are Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute's overheads? +
Across the recent disclosed accounts used for this score, fundraising costs were about 0% of total expenditure and fundraising plus separately reported governance figures amount to about 0% of expenditure (2025); these categories can overlap, so this is not a distinct total of all administration costs at Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute. Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Individual salaries, including the chief executive's, are disclosed in the trustees' annual report rather than on the register.
How much income does Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute receive? +
Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute reported £560k total income in its 2025 accounts, based on UK regulator filings. Five-year trend: stable.
Are Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute's accounts up to date? +
Filing status: up to date (last filing 2026-08-27). CharityCompare flags late or missing accounts separately from the financial score.
Where is Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute based? +
Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute's registered contact address is in London (WC1N 1DH). It tells the regulator it operates in Camden, with a focus on human rights.
How much is Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute's chief executive paid? +
The Charity Commission register does not name individual salaries. Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2025 reports no employees paid more than £60,000. Charities normally disclose the chief executive's pay, or the pay of their highest-paid staff, in the remuneration note of the trustees' annual report and accounts.
Where does Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute's money come from? +
Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute reported £560k total income for the year ending 31 December 2025. The largest sources were donations and legacies £555k (99%), investments £3,662 (1%), other income £1,245 (0%).
Can I claim Gift Aid on a donation to Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute? +
The register does not record Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute as registered with HMRC for Gift Aid. Ask the charity before assuming a donation can be Gift Aided.
Are Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute's trustees paid? +
Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute's annual return for the year ending 31 December 2025 reports that no trustee received remuneration or other benefits from the charity.
What was Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute previously called? +
The register lists these previous names for Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute: Kurdish Human Rights Project; Kurdistan Human Rights Project; Dpi - Democratic Progress Initiative.
When was Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute registered as a charity? +
Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute was entered on the register on 5 May 1994. It is also a company registered at Companies House (company number 02922108).
How does CharityCompare score Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute? +
We calculate a Clarity Score of 0–100 from four pillars in Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute's regulator filings: Accountability & Transparency (40 points — filing history, trustees, policies), Financial Health (30 — reserves, income trend, debt), Financial Efficiency (20 — cause spend and fundraising cost, on a graduated scale) and Community Support (10 — volunteer-to-staff ratio). An open statutory inquiry scores 0. The score measures reporting on paper, not programme impact. CharityCompare is free for donors, takes no commission on donations, and scores cannot be bought.
How often is this page updated? +
This profile was last updated on 6 September 2026 from the latest UK regulator data available to CharityCompare, and Dpi - Democratic Progress Institute's most recent accounts cover 2025. Scores and figures refresh whenever we re-ingest the register, so the page reflects our latest data pull rather than a one-off review.